Tags

, , ,

Author: Leigh Bardugo|
Website | Twitter |
Publication Date: June 4th,  2013|
Publisher: Henry Holt & CO
My Interest: Fantasy lover |
Source: Library
Age Group | Genre: YA| Fantasy
Series: Yes, The Grisha Trilogy|
Pages: 419

LOVE LOVE LOVE this book.

Review over. Go read it.

Actually—I mentioned yesterday how stoked I am for the final book in this trilogy, but what I have’t mentioned is that because of my review of Shadow and Bone, my blog name(along with other super cool people!) was sort of published in the paperback edition.

So yeah. This is a series I fangirl over.

I checked out a copy from my local library. I was not compensated in any way for my words (cross my heart) nor did I promise a good rating. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine.

Summary

“Darkness never dies.

Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.”

-via Goodreads

Review

I picked up Siege and Storm late this summer simply because that’s the first time I could get my hands on the book. It was in high demand at the library.

After finishing it, I can totally see why.

Oh. My. Gosh. I love it when I pick up the second book in a trilogy and find that it has reason to be in the trilogy. By that I mean this is in NO WAY a second book syndrome read. Nope. Siege and Storm has every need to be in the middle of this trilogy and every way of keeping my heart a flutter.

I came to reading as a fantasy lover, which I think is why I tend to steer towards more middle grade reading. There’s just something about the world of fantasy that is extremely acceptable for that age, as if YA’ers have to grow up to read contemporary realism only. But I think Bardugo completely voids that idea (if anyone besides me even thinks that.) Honestly, Bardugo’s stories make me believe in fantasy again. So far this series has wooed me in a way older fantasy stories haven’t wooed me, and Siege and Storm just pulls me deeper into Alina’s fantastical, beautiful, heart-wrenching world. (I think it’s because of Bardugo’s exceptional world building and fantastical description–but that’s just me.)

Not to mention that Sturmhold sort of wooes me too. But that’s besides the point.

Siege and Storm lets us into Alina’s heart and power on a much more intimate level. We get more on her inner struggles–and we see her having to make a choice that will change her world while also risking so much. And Mal, dear Mal.
I don’t want to give anything away with this story because I feel like there is so much you just have to experience!

But I will tell you that this story moved me–to continue believing in fantasy and the power of story. Because like any good read, there is so much to take away from Bardugo’s world–with some of that being  awe at what’s to come next.

Pick this read up if you like…

fantasy, high fantasy, science, mystery, romance, witty men, dark secrets, and flying (pirate-like) ships

Then when you’re finished, try….

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2 by Sarah Maas

  

Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2) by Robin LaFevers

Book Talk: Have you read Siege and Storm yet? (Probably–why am I even asking?) What did you think? Surprised? Sad? Super ready for the final book? 

Hopeful reading!
signature

