Tags

, , , , ,

*Note: This column comes from the fact that I truly do believe in the power of story, and I know there is a book for everyone. So even if a book may not be the right book for me, that doesn’t mean it might not be the book that makes you become a reader.

I have been super excited about today’s featured book for quite awhile. I saw it around the blogosphere and was ready to give it a try during the last month of hauntings. A spooky read for a spooky time–except of course when I was home by myself. Then I just left all the lights on in the house and turned my music way up.

However—as Halloween drew closer, I just couldn’t seem to pick this back up. I’m really bummed about it guys.

Welcome to today’s edition of

notbread*may contain spoilers

My current {not} read this week is
The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black
Published: September 3rd, 2013 |
Publisher: Little, Brown Books |
Age Group: YA |
Genre: Paranormal, Horror|
Series: No |
Pages: 419 |

Why I picked it up: The summary drew me in. I mean, go read it, look at this cover, and them tell me YOU wouldn’t want to pick up this book.

How far I got: Page 210, Chapter 22

The story so far: Tana wakes up the morning after a crazy party only to realize the house is full of corpses. Seemingly she’s the only one left alive after a massacre. Then she explores the house running into her ex-boyfriend who turns out to be infected, and a crazy mysterious boy holding a deep secret. Tana’s really scared, and after she possibly becomes infected she realizes she only has a few days to save all three of them–so she heads to Coldtown herself. I got to the part where they make it to Coldtown, and WHAT a crazy, weird place!

Why I put it in the drop box: I honestly can’t believe I got so far into this book and put it down. But after a couple of days I realized I hadn’t picked it back up and decided to nix it for this season. The story was just. so interesting. And Black’s writing is superb. I’m obviously a super fan of hers. But *spoiler alert* I just don’t think I can do vampire stories. Sure, this story is SO DIFFERENT than other vampires storie (um… non-sparkly here!) but as much as I tried, I’m just not interested in that sort of paranormal.

Will I pick it back up?: Maybe next spooky season I’ll try picking this up again. I love reading creepy stories during October, so I’ll put it on the back burner until 2014. I honestly would like to pick it back up because I”m curious to see how Black ends the story–and her writing is just fab!

Book Talk: Have you read The Coldest Girl in Coldtown? Even though I’m not a vampire fan should I try it again? What was so different about this vamp story? Why do YOU like vampire stories?

