Tags

, , , , ,

*Note: This column comes from the fact that I truly do believe in the power of story, and I know there is a book for everyone. So even if a book may not be the right book for me, that doesn’t mean it might not be the book that makes you become a reader.

I totally blame this week’s not read on life circumstances. Seriously. I love this book–or at least the little bit I read of it. I hate featuring it on here, but perhaps you might like it a little bit more than me! (Especially if you’re a Doctor Who fan. Just saying….)

Welcome to today’s edition of

notbread*may contain spoilers

My current {not} read this week is
Relativity by Cristin Bishara
Published: September 10th,  2013 |
Publisher: Walker Childrens |
Age Group: YA |
Genre: Fantasy / Sci-Fi, Time Travel |
Series: No |
Pages: 288 |

Why I picked it up: Duh–time travel. I would like to blame the Whovian in me for the obsession with time travel, but honestly it’s my imagination. Since I was a kid I’ve always loved this type of book and so I have to pick them up. All of them.

How far I got: Page 60, Chapter 4

The story so far: Ruby hates the fact that her father uprooted her life and moved her to Nowheresville Ohio without even consulting her. Not to mention that her new stepmother is a little weird, and her stepsister definitely has some anger issues. It’s a wrong encounter with her stepsister that leads Ruby to travel to the tree–and discover that the hidden door in it’s trunk might just blow all of her physics theories out of the water. Especially as she steps into parallel dimensions.

Why I put it in the drop box: I ran out of renewals. PLUS–moving last week sort of killed my reading time, and I may have picked up Allegiant  and sort of spent any tiny bits of free time reading it.

Will I pick it back up?: YES! Honestly, I was just getting to the good part–you know the part where the protagonist discovers time travel for the first time?! This is definitely on my list for next year’s “judge a book by it’s genre” challenge (more on that later!!!)

Book Talk: Have you read Relativity?  If so, what did you think? Is it one I should definitely pick back up? What about for time travel nerds–does this fit the bill?

