Tags

, , , , , ,

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays. It’s a time to reflect on the blessings of life and unabashedly speak gratitude.
I tried to take Twitter by storm this year with #TakeBackThanksgiving because with the Christmas season approaching ever earlier–sometimes I feel we forget about this season of thanks.

If you’ve been a regular reader, you know it’s been a rough year around here. I lost not only two of my grandparents, but I also said goodbye to my trusty sidekick, and soldiered through two stressful moves.
But despite those things, there have been many, many, many moments of thankfulness this year.
Of course some of those moments include books, and so today as I wish you Happy Thanksgiving and hope you are filled with joy and gratitude, I wanted to share a few reads I am thankful for this year because the power of their stories have meant a lot to me.

Never underestimate the power of words or the freedoms we have in speaking them. There is a power in many stories to give us hope, comfort us, and change our lives.

These are just a few that have touched me…

thanksgiving

Books The Hopeful Heroine recommends:
[link will take you to my review]

Wonder by R.J. Palacio
The Spiderwick Chronicles: The Field Guide by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black
Keeper of the Lost Cities and KOTLC: Exhile by Shannon Messenger
Liesl and Po by Lauren Oliver
Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson
Also Known As by Robin Benway
Perfect Scoundrels by Ally Carter
Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Hopeful reading!

