Tags

, , ,

Desktop20

Author: Kathryn Fitzmaurice | Website | Twitter |Release Date:February 19th, 2013
Publisher: Katherine Tegan Books | Genre: Realism, Contemporary | Pages: 352 |

When I was a kid, I believed I had a destiny,and that a great fate awaited me if inly I could find it. Then I realized my closet couldn’t really transport me to another world where destiny was at play. But I never stopped believing.
Today’s book features a little girl who believes in destiny.. And sort of reminds me of a younger me.

I borrowed a copy from my local library. I was not compensated in any way for my review (cross my heart) nor did I promise a good rating. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine. Marvelous Middle Grade Monday is hosted every Monday at author Shannon Messenger’s blog

Summary

Eleven-year-old Emily Elizabeth Davis has been told for her entire life that her destiny is to become a poet, just like her famous namesake, Emily Dickinson. But Emily doesn’t even really like poetry, and she has a secret career ambition that she suspects her English-professor mother will frown on. Then, just after discovering that it contains an important family secret, she loses the special volume of Emily Dickinson’s poetry that was given to her at birth. As Emily and her friends search for the lost book in used bookstores and thrift shops all across town, Emily’s understanding of destiny begins to unravel and then rewrite itself in a marvelous new way.

-via book jacket

5 Reasons Why This Books is Marvelous!

  1. What a fabulous book! Fitzmaurice has written a story that will stay with me for awhile. From the story concept to the characters to the writing itself, Destiny Rewritten is just a fun and moving story! This is my first venture into Fitzmaurice’s work, but I absolutely loved her writing. She has a way with not only her words, but she captured the essence of a middle grader perfectly.
  2. I so wish Emily was a real (and sort of grown-up) person because I’m pretty sure we would be best friends. The story starts with us learning that Emily is named after the poet Emily Dickenson, and her great destiny is to become a great poet. But Emily sort of has other plans, and that’s what I love about her! She is a strong heroine who thinks about fate but doesn’t let it rule her life. She forges her own path.
  3. Many times, Emily’s path has to do with books and that’s anther reason I just love this story. Books and poetry abound! The first time Emily ventures into a used bookstore in the novel she thinks, “there is nothing like the smell of a bookstore. If you ask me, it’s actually a combination of smells: part library, part new-book smell, and part expectation for what you might find.” This girl gets me–totally gets me. Avid readers and literature lovers alike will love this story for that very reason–there’s a depth of the great love of literature in here and it jut makes one appreciate stories and their power all that much more.
  4. The comic relief in Fitzmaurice’s novel is probably my new favorite character of all time: Emily’s younger cousin Mortie. When I talked about Fitzmaurice getting middle graders, I mean that she totally gets all kids. Her characters are so very real that I feel as if they could be kids in my classroom. Mortie is super funny, and all about the military and being a spy. He throws around snippets of awesome wisdom, while simultaneously making you laugh. He’s a perfect addition to the novel and absolutely needed for Emily’s adventure.
  5. I talk a lot about concept when I share why I love books, but I’ve never really fully explained it. For me–concept is simply the story idea. It’s the author’s imagination and vision of the story. I don’t necessarily believe in destiny anymore, or at least not in the way I did as a child, but Emily believes in it– and her belief in destiny and fate driving her life makes such a neat read. In a way, her story is a set of serendipitous moments that come together for something magical. And magic is something that is so needed in a MG novel.

Destiny Rewritten is a story that will make readers believe in the magic in life–and that anything is possible.

must-readBook Talk: Have you ever read Destiny Rewritten? Do you believe in fate or making your own destiny? 

Hopeful reading!

