Tags

, , , , ,

Author: John Green|
Website | Twitter | Tumblr
Publication Date: January 10th,  2012|
Publisher: Dutton Books
My Interest: Need-To-Read, Grief |
Source: Library, Audiobook |
Age Group | Genre: YA| Realism, Grief, Romance |
Series: No |
Pages: 313 |

Ok. Last summer I tried reading TFIOS but it turned out my own grief was just too fresh. But, last month I went on a little road trip and this happened to be the first audiobook on my queue that came in. I was sort of forced to read it to keep me awake while driving–and I assumed listening to it via audiobook would help with the tears.

It didn’t. But I loved this book you guys. All. The. Feels.

I checked out a copy from my local library. I was not compensated in any way for my words (cross my heart) nor did I promise a good rating. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine.

The Story

“Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten. 

-via Goodreads

My Thoughts

Before we start discussing this novel, I have a huge confession: this is my first John Green read.
You can close your mouths now. I know.
I’m also going to admit that I’m obviously two years late on reading this award-winning novel, but I have some personal reasons. The story concept hits just a little too close to home these days, and honestly, I was afraid I couldn’t handle it. Which is exactly why it ended up being an unfinished read last year.

So, this time around I read via audiobook, and I’m so glad. Usually, I’m not an audiobook kind of person but this one was fabulous so I’ll start there. I really liked Kate Rudd as the reader because she grasped (acted) the emotions of the book so realistically. I know my imagination could have handled this read, but approaching it from the audio point of view brought something different to my story experience. It definitely made me excited for the movie (WHAT? You didn’t know? Stock up on tissues now) but I feel as if I was able to grasp all the feels in such a different way. When I’m reading a book, I’m so immersed in the world because my imagination draws me in–with this version of TFIOS I felt as if I was in the story yet outside of the story. I mean–I was reading it but I was “watching” it at the same time. Maybe that makes sense or maybe it’s one of my weird reader things?

I’m sure by now you know the premise of this book: teens with cancer, fall in love, life changes. I’m not going to have an all-out in-depth review of the plot or concept because I’m probably the last person on the planet to read it. But–if you have questions about particulars ask and we’ll talk. Otherwise, I’m just going to say if you’ve been putting off this story, please pick it up. It’s wonderfully written, emotionally in-depth, gut wrenching-ly life changing, and filled with snippets of beautiful quotes. 

As for the emotions–I thought I wouldn’t cry as much as I did. I started this book the minute I left town and finished it as I was pulling into my friend’s driveway. I was sobbing and wiping my eyes as I’m trying to drive in the snow and find her house. Recommendationdo not read TFIOS while operating a vehicle as it may cause unsafe driving conditions. Seriously–I fell so deeply in love with Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters as characters that I’m pretty sure I’m going to start calling everyone by two names for the rest of my life.

TFIOS is one of those stories I thought would hinder my grief, but along the way it helped it. After dealing with loss because of cancer in my own family, how the heck was I supposed to read about teens with cancer? That is pure emotional torture simply calling for an all out sobfest.  But then Green throws in stuff like this:

tweet

And I’m like: All. the. Feels. Seriously. My heart hurt during this read but in so many ways except a bad hurt. I think TFIOS is one of those books EVERYONE needs to read because it challenges us to think about the hard parts in life and to grow from them. Sure, I dismissed this book earlier but it’s because I wasn’t ready for it. The power of this story is that it finds you when you least expect it but need it the most.

Pick this read up if you like…

Realism, if you need help with grief, contemporary teens, romantic stories, teenage love, ALL THE FEELS

Then when you’re finished, try….

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

  

Everyday by David Levithan

Book Talk: Have you read TFIOS? Did you struggle with it like I did? Were you personally connected to the issue? Or were you able to separate yourself from the story and just read in awe?

signature

