Tags

, , , ,

I live in the Midwest, and most of the time I appreciate it. We don’t have crazy hurricanes, earthquakes, or half a year of winter. Just tornadoes. And apparently this week–massive blizzards with freezing temperatures I haven’t seen before in my lifetime.

You would think since I’ve grown up with snow every year I would be all

But in reality, I’m not a huge fan of the cold. I’m more like this:

Every morning this week I’ve woken up, looked outside, and suddenly felt like

But since I’ve been on school break, I’m enjoying my snowed in time with a pile of books. After all, who needs outside when you’ve got books?

So in lieu of the crazy winter weather that’s only just begun, I’ve put together a list of reads that are simply perfect for being frozen in OR if perhaps you just happen to have a reader who loves the new Disney movie FROZEN!

Here’s what I’m recommending to sweep you away on adventures even if you are snowed in…

FrozenIn

Books The Hopeful Heroine recommends:

The Snow Queen by R.Hans Christian Andersen | review
Breadcrumbs by  Anne Ursu | review
The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis | review
The Silver Bowl by Diane Stanley
Winterling by Sarah Prineas
Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine | review

Last year I spent a whole month on The Snow Queen for Project: Fairy Tale as it’s one of my favorite stories! If you LOVE the tale, here are a few of my retelling recommendations!

Book Talk: Have you been frozen inside this week? If so, what have you been reading?

signature

