Tags

, , ,

weekly

Wow. I can’t believe today is my last day of break. These last six weeks have been a nice long, and restful semester break but I am so ready to start in the classroom on Monday! Which means it might be slower than normal around here. Especially with all that I’ve got planned for my kids! But don’t worry, I’ll be chugging along with my genre quests–and keeping up on twitter. Until then, this is what I’ve been up to this past week!

Links I loved

  • I was sort of bummed when I read in The Atlantic about “The Decline of the American Book Lover.” Research shows that nearly a quarter of Americans did not read last year. My question is WHY NOT? However, some good news is that the number of younger readers reading for pleasure has stopped declining. It might not have spiked, but at least some kids are still reading for fun’s sake!


  • As apparent as the last post, I’m pretty excited about all the book-to-screen adaptions coming out this year. School Library Journal had an article that talked about not only the set adaptions, but books in the works.
  • It turns out that China has an intense culture of reading, and I’m hoping to take some of their exuberance into my classroom! Read alouds, implementing reading everyday, and involving parents are all things I think our education system should adopt.
  • Other studies are showing how reading literally improves our brain. I remember as a kid (it might have been Bill Nye?) hearing that every time we read we get a wrinkle in our brain–and those wrinkles are great things! At one point I tried tallying all my wrinkles and then eventually stopped because I read too much.
  • For a while now, I’ve been on this journey to natural living, and this article about organic foods caused me to make sure my fact-checking and research into things never stops. Plus it really encourages me to start my own garden this summer!

What I did

  • This week I completed a few revamps in our life including making my own non-toxic laundry detergent and dish soap. I actually had fun with it too!

 

  • Last week the hubster and I had a binge watch of Sherlock so I could introduce him to the show and not feel guilty taking up TV with season 3. He loved it so we jumped right in with The Empty Hearse this week. I sort of felt like this:

  • As Teri Lesesne and Donalyn Miller just happen to be two scholars I’m channeling for my classroom I had a huge nerd moment the other day when this happened:

tweet

  • I’ve also been nurturing my green thumb. My sister-in-law bought me a living rock (lithops) for Christmas, and it’s really the neatest and weirdest thing I’ve ever seen. It’s kind of exciting to watch it grow!

rock

Posts
I blogged a bit less than normal as I was in planning mode this week.
Here’s a recap from the last two week:

MMGM: The Alchemyst by Michael Scott |
What I’ve {not} Been Reading Lately: Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger |
Review: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes |
Judging Genres: Fantasy Quests |
Rebel Reading: Implementing the Book Whisperer |
Judging Genres: Field Guide to MG Fantasy |

A good read!

FSI discovered Tony Abbott’s The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone this week at the library, and I have been steamrolling through it. It’s an adventurous thrilller that has me hooked.
A few reviewers have likened it to The DaVinci Code for kids, and I totally get that. But in my opinion, it’s way cooler!

My plan is to sit down today and finish it in one swoop. It’s one of those books I simply do not want to put down. Except for this one time…it did freak me out. Can you guess why?

wa

Newbies!

I got a really fun event kit in the mail this week via HarperCollins, and I’m already planning some fun classroom stuff for poetry month! I don’t care what people say, no one is ever too old for Shel Silverstein poetry!
Everything On It  by Shel Silverstein | Thanks Harper Children’s!

shel

How was your week? What’s up for your weekend?

signature

