Tags

, , ,

Author: Amie Kauffman |
Website | Twitter | Meagan Spooner |
Website | Twitter
Publication Date: December 10th, 2013 |
Publisher: Disney Hyperion |
My Interest: Sci-Fi month, Hype |
Source: Literary Lushes, Library|
Age Group | Genre: YA| Sci-Fi | Romance
Series: Yes | Starbound series
Pages: 374 |

Sci-Fi month is growing on me. I actually read this book back at the very beginning of the year in anticipation for this month, and I had heard a lot of hype for this story. I was a huge Titanic fan as a kid, so for a story marketed as Titanic in space, I totally had to see what was up.

I was first loaned an ARC from Literary Lushes, and then checked out a copy from my local library. I was not compensated in any way for my words (cross my heart) nor did I promise a good rating. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine.

The Story

“It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it. 

-via Goodreads

My Thoughts

Well Sci-Fi. We have an interesting relationship. I love you at times (ahem Doctor Who) and then other times I find it hard to be interested in you.

This was kind of one of those times. I blame part of that reason on the fact that I first received an ARC of this book while I was visiting my best friend whom I hadn’t seen in three years. Needless to say, my mind was NOT on any sort of reading.
But in fairness to the game, I sent off the ARC to the next lucky reader just in time, and immediately queued up the read at my library. I wasn’t about to let this story go unfinished, and I’m really glad I didn’t.

I was intrigued by the story. A whole bunch of people in the future on this gigantic “unsinkable” space liner, and then suddenly it becomes sinkable. I remember thinking this story is the epitome of sci-fi: outer space, weird planets, whispers. I found myself turning the pages one right after another simply because I had to know where the plot was going. It seemed like These Broken Stars was holding secrets for me–I ended up anticipating something really big for the ending, and then it just wasn’t quite what I wanted. BUT, this is the first in a series so who knows what the next book holds.

To be honest, I also had a hard time getting into Lilac and Tarver’s story. I just couldn’t connect to either one of them as a character–but I did enjoy the love connection between them. It reminded me of Darcy and Elizabeth, and I’m all for some P&P romantic tension. I found myself hoping for them to fall in love more so than I hoped for them to get off the planet. I know–terrible.

Despite my troubles getting into this story, I thought it was wholly original and definitely a page turner both in conflict/plot and action-wise. As a reader, I simply struggled with connecting to this book most likely because I’m not a huge sci-fi nerd. Sci-Fi is a very new world for me (pun intended) so I’m trying to keep an open mind this month. Normally, I would have tossed this book into the What I’ve {Not} Been Reading Lately pile, but after making it to the end (AND boy—what a little twist there!) I’m anticipating the next book! I really want to connect to Lilac more, and even see what happens between her and Tarver. After all, I  do enjoy a swoon-worthy read, and this relationship was definitely Jack and Rose worthy.

Pick this read up if you like…

Stars, Sci-Fi, a little bit of mystery, The Titanic, Darcy/Elizabeth-like romantic tension, strange worlds, outer space

Then when you’re finished, try….

All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

  

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis

Book Talk: Have you read These Broken Stars yet? What did you think about it? Was it as exciting as you thought? Or were you a bit let down like me?

signature

