Tags

, , ,

genrejudge

Ok–I know I’m late in posting (it’s this whole school gig) but I am so excited about today’s topic. It’s another little bit of help to break you out of your reading box! In fact, I wish I had had this made at the beginning of the month so I could have explored MORE MG sci-fi.

That’s righ!l–I have another guide for you! I hoping you enjoyed my fantasy field guides so much, that you’ll pair them up with this one! I’ve decided someday I have to figure out how to print this out in giant form,and then laminate it because it is totally going up in my classroom. Once again, it doesn’t list every middle grade sci-fi out there, just the ones I ran across that I thought might be interesting for younger readers!
Without further adieu,  I give you–The Hopeful Heroine’s Field Guide to MG Science-Fiction!!

sfmgguide

Books recommended:

Time Travel  |
The Phantom Tollbooth by Norman Jestter 
The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery  
Alex and the Amazing Time Machine by Rich Cohen 
The Forbidden Stone by Tony Abbott
The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens
When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead 
A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle | Graphic novel version by Hope Larson
A Wind in the Door by Madeleine L’Engle
A Swiftly Tiltling Planet 
by Madeleine L’Engle
Many Waters by Madeleine L’Engle
An Acceptable Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Strange Happenings | Alien
The Lost Planet by Rachel Searles
You Can’t Have My Planet, but Take My Brother Please by James Mihaley
Signal by Cynthia DeFelice
The Tripods Trilogy by John Christopher
Cosmic by Frank Cottrell Boyce

Science-y |
Eye of the Storm by Kate Messner
The Secret of Zoom by Lynne Jonell
Popular Clone by M. E. Castle

Metal Men | Strange Worlds
The Search for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi
A Hero for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi
The Battle for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi

Until next week it’s time to get out of your MG reading box! –Have you read any of these Sci-Fi stories before? If so, what did you  like about them? What topic/subgenre do you tend to gravitate towards? What topic/subgenre are you ready to try?

signature

