Tags

, , , ,

Desktop24

Author: Jennifer Nielsen |Website | TwitterRelease Date: February 25th, 2014
Publisher: Scholastic Press | Genre: Fantasy, High Fantasy | Pages: 336 |

So, I’m deviating from #SciFiMonth  for a moment because I was able to get my hands on an ARC copy of today’s read, and I simply devoured it.
Remember last month when I started in on Sage’s world, and simply fell in love with it? Well, as always I was behind the times in discovering the read but thankfully the final book of the trilogy comes out TODAY! This is one of those books where not only did I have all. the. feels. but wow–I think I have a new favorite middle grade series.

I was provided an ARC copy from my NetGalley.
I was not compensated in any way for my review (cross my heart) nor did I promise a good rating. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine. Marvelous Middle Grade Monday is hosted every Monday at author Shannon Messenger’s blog

Summary

War has come to Carthya. It knocks at every door and window in the land. And when Jaron learns that King Vargan of Avenia has kidnapped Imogen in a plot to bring Carthya to its knees, Jaron knows it is up to him to embark on a daring rescue mission. But everything that can go wrong does.

His friends are flung far and wide across Carthya and its neighbouring lands. In a last-ditch effort to stave off what looks to be a devastating loss for the kingdom, Jaron undertakes what may be his last journey to save everything and everyone he loves. But even with his lightning-quick wit, Jaron cannot forestall the terrible danger that descends on him and his country. Along the way, will he lose what matters most? And in the end, who will sit on Carthya’s throne?

-via Goodreads

5 Reasons Why This Books is Marvelous!

  1. Talk about a nervous read. Oh. You aren’t familiar with that term? Perhaps I’ve coined that feel. Perhaps not. Either way, The Shadow Throne has been a book I have been highly anticipating so of course that means it’s going to come with a few nerves. I mean I had so many questions going into this book–How was Nielsen going to approach war? Would Sage be back? Would sadness ensue? And most importantly, would there be an ending that caused all. the. feels.? Lately it seems as if I’ve been finishing trilogies that just leave me–well–just not how I’d like to feel when I finish a book. For that reason, I was nervous. I mean, I’ve spent the last couple weeks wrapped up in Sage’s world and found myself really drawn to these characters emotionally. So having finished the last book with the prospect of war around the corner, I was extremely nervous for the outcome of this final book. But oh Jennifer Nielsen–you have awed me.
  2. For real ya’ll–I just gave a book commercial to my students last Friday on the first book of this series and bragged that I had finished reading The Shadow Throne already. I had a few boys’ jaws drop and ask if they could borrow my copy because they were anticipating this read as well. That is the power of story my friends. And boy does Nielsen grab you with her writing of this one! When book two ended, we had a cliff hanger, but I knew exactly where it was leading. The prospect of war is intense in this read, and I love the action this book entails. I’m usually not a fan of war books because I just get bored. I think it’s hard to write a really good war story and have the scenes progress. After all, fighting can only be written so many ways. But I felt Nielsen conquers it. I was on the edge of my seat the entire book because the war spanned the story, but it wasn’t dragged out. It was action packed, and nerve wracking, and even at times heart-wrenching.
  3. Yes, I said it. Heart-wrenching. Prepare yourself as you’ll get no spoilers here; only this:
    tweet
  4. Last book I mentioned we got to meet a new character, Jaron, and we get much more of him in this story. I have to say, my heart fell for him as much as it did for Sage. He’s a brave soul, and one of those boys I truly hope my students and future son connect with. He has so many good qualities, and he’s realistic. For a a character set in a fantastical world, I feel as if he could walk off the pages and be ok right here and right now. Besides Jaron, several of our regulars–Imogen, Mott, Tobias, and Roden, are back, and I simply love the development of their characters! All of them grow so much as people which I simply attribute to great writing and character development. Sure, I love a good fantasy world–especially one that’s adventurous–but it’s often the characters that make me fall in love with a story. After all, we often read to escape and to connect with someone who can teach us about life. This is definitely one of those series that has so many hidden gems in the characters that I’ll be re-reading it for years to come.
  5. Finally, like the first two books, The Shadow Throne throws in a few little twists near the ending. Again, you’ll get no spoilers here, but like the first two reads, I was knocked off my feet! I did not see any of them coming in any way, and boy–did they just make the book even better!I think you’ll definitely be surprised at what Nielsen has in store for you.

Overall, The Shadow Throne was the perfect ending to this trilogy. I rarely offer that simply because I usually have such high expectations for series’ endings. But this time around, I was so satisfied and honestly when I closed the last page, my heart just felt good at knowing this story was over.

must-readBook Talk: Are you excited to read The Shadow Throne? Or are you like me and nervous about how the trilogy is going to end?

signature

