Tags

, , , ,

*Note: This column comes from the fact that I truly do believe in the power of story, and I know there is a book for everyone. So even if a book may not be the right book for me, that doesn’t mean it might not be the book that makes you become a reader.

How’s Sci-Fi month coming along for you? I’m hoping that you’re discovering a BUNCH of new and exciting reads and breaking down some barriers of the genre.
We all know I’m pretty honest on here, so if you noticed yesterday, I did not have a Marvelous Middle-Grade Monday read to share with you because the sci-fi MG book I had planned to feature has unfortunately found its way onto this post.

Welcome to today’s edition of

notbread*may contain spoilers

My current {not} read this week is
The Search for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi
Published: September 21st, 2010 |
Publisher: Simon & Schusters |
Age Group: MG |
Genre: Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Adventure|
Series: yes  | WondLa
Pages: 484 |

Why I picked it up: It seemed like a ringer for sci-fi month, AND it was a middle grade read. (I’ve found sci-fi to be rare for younger readers.)

How far I got: Page 112, Chapter 11

The story so far: Eva Nine has lived her whole life underground in her subterranean home, the Sanctuary. Muthr–her robot caretaker–has been training her for the day she’ll be able to visit above ground. Unfortunately, her wish comes true in the way she least expects it. Eva Nine makes it to the above ground only to be captured by a scary creature–but then she finds a few new friends.

Why I put it in the drop box: I’m a little bit more busy with school than I expected so my reading quota is low. I have a stack of books I would like to get to in the next few weeks, and after starting this one and then not picking it up for about a week, I decided it just wasn’t sitting with me. It was a good story, but I just found the opening slow going.

Will I pick it back up?: Perhaps. I found the story to be curious and different in the such a neat sci-fi way. I’m really trying to like sci-fi more, and I think this is one story that could interest me should I give sci-fi a bit more time. DiTerlizzi’s illustrations are spread throughout the book and done in such a beautiful, old fashioned way that they really helped me get into the story better. I’d like to finish the story if at least to have viewed all his drawings!

Book Talk: Have you read The Search for WondLa? What was your take on the novel? Did you enjoy the world-building and interesting creatures?

signature