Tags

, , ,

genrejudge

Did last week’s field guide lead you to any fabulous middle grade reads? I hope so!I n fact during my own research I picked up a few new fantasy/mythological novels that I’m incorporating into lit circles for my 7th graders.

Sometimes I wish I could just research books all day because I LOVE finding new reads!

Which is why this week’s Judging Genres is featuring YA fantasy! I admit that I tend to read much more fantasy geared for middle graders than I do for young adult. But after compiling this list, I’m kind of ready to skip all the genres and focus on fantasy all year!

But I won’t. I’ve made you a promise after all.
So, once again I give you a field guide so you can explore the genre!

YAfguide

Books recommended:

Magical Adventure |
Transparent by Natalie Whipple
The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger

Alternate World |
Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini | Mythology
The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan | Mythology
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor | Supernatural
Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Retellings |
Cold Spell by Jackson Pearce | Secondary World
Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson | Alternate World
Splintered by A.G. Howard | Secondary World
Cinder by Marissa Meyer | Fairy Tale, Sci-FiWitches |

Witches |
Born Wicked
 
by Jessica Spotswood

High Fantasy |
Graceling by Kristin Cashore
Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers | Assassins 
Seraphina by Rachel Hartman | Dragons
Eragon by Christopher Paolini | Dragons

Time Travel |
Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier
Tempest by Julie Cross
Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone

Superheroes | 
Hero by Perry Moore
Dark Star
 
by Bethany Frenette

Supernatural |
If I Stay by Gayle Foreman
The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting

Until next week it’s time to get out of your YA reading box! –Which fantasy is your favorite? What ones haven’t you read? Which subgenre makes you nervous? Which subgenre are you constantly reading?

signature